Books · Meme

Buzz Words and Deal Breakers

It’s Book Chat Time! Idea coming from Misty from The Book Rat!

Now, what are my Buzz words or deal breakers…

Deal Breakers

Hmmm, There aren’t really very many deal breakers. I’m going to start with the deal breakers and end on a positive note. A deal breaker for me is insta love, I won’t necessarily will put it down but I am turned off by it. Insta-love just makes me cringe, or when the love interest is incredibly cheesy and overdone. Not that I don’t enjoy a good cheeseball every now and then but I can only take so many corny lines. I mean, you all have not met my dad so you would not understand. He is the master of cornballs. Just trust me. But don’t get me wrong, some people enjoy it, but it’s just not for me. As Misty said..I need depth, I need growth. I tend to be a little more hard hearted.

Love triangles…why?! It worked the first, I want to say…two times. Now I feel like they are overdone, I need a break of love triangles.

Never-ending chapters. Chapters that go on, and on, and on. Please! Give me a break, most people don’t like to finish in the middle of a chapter, I am most definitely one who will not stop in the middle of a chapter. I can deal with long books but long chapters…I could deal without.

It’s not a deal breaker, but I have been a bit wary lately of series. Everything is a series now, even when some books that are going to be series, could have ended with one book. I don’t know if it’s just me, but I hate not finishing a series, and I hate going into a book not knowing it is a series and then finding out and feeling like I have to continue. And since starting my blog I have become a bit harder towards what I am going to continue reading and what I’m not. I have become more critical in a way? I analyze books way more than I used to, but I guess that’s good. It comes in handy when people ask me for book recommendations.

Another thing I’m way of is covers. I know, I know. You shouldn’t judge a book by it’s cover but come on. Almost everyone does it, it’s 90% of the time what attracts people to books. I tend to be particular about book covers, I love photography and when I see models on book covers I tend to nitpick them. And covers with girls in pretty dresses are overdone, as well as faces. But I think you get my point.

Buzz Words

That’s enough negative talk. Now to get on with my buzz words. Mythology has always interested me, ever since I was little. Anything mythology based I will normally look into.

Fairytales and Re-tellings are also soft spots for me. Although it sort of goes along with Mythology. I am a huge Disney fan, and I have always loved fairytales and retellings, when done well they are awesome. Mythology retellings are also cool.

Again, when done well Multiple Points of View are nice. I’m not sure how fond I am of two completely different plot lines interchanging though. But Multiple Points of View are nice every once in awhile. It’s also nice to have a male lead character every now and then. Since the majority tend to be female.

Summaries. In general I tend to find most things interesting, I normally have to sift through tons of books by covers or by genre because I tend to find every summary interesting. I’m just to nice I guess. So..process of elimination. I just am a slow reader, I don’t have the time to read every book in the world. (Sorry authors.) So, it’s a buzz word but can also be a deal breaker.

Covers are also things that can make or break a book for me. I already talked about why covers can break a book, now I’m going to talk about how it can make one. Sometimes I’ll only scroll through and look at covers, if a cover catches my eye it’s 99% possible that, that book will then be added to my TBR. But take into account that I tend to nitpick books, when they make the cut, I tend to remember them for a long time. Please note, these are my opinions. I love covers! But I have to eliminate books somehow, and it works for me. I love contrasting colors, and things that catch the eye. Things that are sometimes not centered but still have a focal point, illustrated covers, and sometimes simple covers are better than complicated ones, and typography.

Going along with fairytales, retellings, and mythology of course I am going to add Sci-fi and Fantasy into the group. Pretty much I love to be taken from reality. But when I leave reality I have to believe it, the world building has to be set up correctly and if accomplished…ahhh it’s wonderful. Which is really the main reason that people read books right? I know that a lot of my buzz words kind of fit together but that’s just what happened. Vampires, Werewolves, fairies, mermaids, my list goes on and on. I guess I just have a huge imagination…at least that’s what people have been telling me for most of my life. Some people can’t get into what isn’t read and just can’t imagine it. I can’t imagine not imagining it. =]

Those are my buzz words and deal breakers. What are yours?

Leave a Reply

